Saturday, April 21, 2012

Fight

Have you ever been in a fight? A real fight? Ever got punched or kicked on the face? stomach? NUTS (for boys)? I considered myself a really good boy (true story) and I never have a real fight with anyone, not even shoving or pulling of shirt I guess. The only few times considered close to a fight is with my brother, where we merely started and always ended up punished by my Dad. Good old times. haha.

There are occasions where the 'processor' in my head overloaded emotionally and I really can't resist to initiate a fight, but everytime without fail, I'll just walk away. I think many people have not been in a fight too and I'm quite sure all of us have our own simulation of the fight on mind and without doubt we always end up winning. At least that's the self-satisfaction everyone needs for not being able to land the punch on that moron. Of course in the simulation, some become Yip Man, some HULKed up, some even acquire super power. TOo much movies. God I love movies!

As I was never engaged in a fight before, I was never beaten up and surely do not know how it feels to be hit. I wasn't asking for it but I guessed I felt it few days back. I was hit in the solar plexus not by someone, but by a ball at point blank. Puuuuuup! That's the futsal ball making the contact. I do not feel anything different at first, but I sensed something wrong when I drew in the next breath. I can hardly inhale and it feels like my lungs were stuck. My face expression turned sour and my friends went nervous. I had to exhale a couple times and hop a little to get over the pain. My legs were a little wobbly. 


Always been wondering why people blacked out hit in the solar plexus during a karate competition, now I know. Anyway, I continued on with the game seconds later. You know, boys what.. surely need to cover up the pain. yeng mah.. 

Well next time when everyone is sharing their experience in the fight talks, at least I can share stories being at the receiver end. You might think you can dodge all the punches and kicks. Let's hope you are correct. Else, stay away from trouble because it feels really "GOOD".

Tuesday, March 13, 2012

Mind talk

*Most dialogue are monologue, some are gtalk conversation, some imaginary mind talk. Time of conversation is not really accurate but it is real! What kind of life is this?

Cheechurn : Mid semester break is only four days, including weekends. Which University does so for their students except UTP? Somemore all assignments and lab reports need to be submitted by the Monday after the mid semester break. My midsem break is surely even busier than any normal weekend!
Sent at 9.35pm at Saturday.

Cheechurn : Stuck in traffic jam in the highway express. I'm supposed to get back to UTP as fast as possible because I got three reports due tomorrow. The most important thing is that my ManUtd's match will be starting at 10pm.
Sent at 8.05pm at Sunday.

Cheechurn : ManUtd won 2-0 and ManCity lost to Swansea. Eat that, City! ManUtd is now back on top!!! Ashraf (my coursemate who likes any teams than ManUtd), eat that!!!
Sent at 12.15am at Sunday.
Lecturer : CheeChurn, you still owe me three reports! If you can't finish it, see how many marks I'll be giving you! Zero, buddy! Eat that!!! (MIND TALK)
Sent at 12.16am at Sunday.
Cheechurn : Sorry lo!!!
Sent at 12.16am at Sunday.

MuhammadFareez : You ingat yang report tu kena hantar hari ni ke?
Sent at 4.10pm at Monday.
Cheechurn : Bukan ke?
Sent at 4.10pm at Monday.
MuhammadFareez : Hantar sebelum Khamis ni lah..
Sent at 4.11pm at Monday.
Cheechurn : Oh, bagus la! (Monolog: WTF!!!!! @#$%^&*, hence the 3 minutes delay in replying)
Sent at 4.14pm at Monday.

Cheechurn : Finally finished the progress report. Anyone wanna follow me to Block 13 to submit my progress report?
Sent at 1.04am at Tuesday.
JiaLiang : Are you serious? It is 1am now, you know?
Sent at 1.05am at Tuesday.
Mason : Block 13 there very "dirty" one leh, la la la la la la la.. (ghost story session started)
Sent at 1.05am at Tuesday.
Cheechurn : I'll submit tomorrow morning la.
Sent at 2.35am at Tuesday.

Earphone : Ahhh.. Girl look at that body! Ahhh.. Girl look at that body! I-I, I work out..
Sent at 6.18am at Tuesday.
Surau : Alla... (sembahyang subuh started)
Sent at 6.18am at Tuesday.
Cheechurn : Already 6.20am? Why la my work cannot finish one? Beh tong, sleep la. 
Sent at 6.18am at Tuesday.

Cheechurn : You got go MED lecture just now? Anything important?
Sent at 2.26pm at Tuesday.
Arrian : Nope, went meeting Mr.Ahmad for Euphonious. You didn't go? Apa jadi?

Sent at 2.27pm at Tuesday.
Cheechurn : "Pengsan." Just woke up.

Sent at 2.27pm at Tuesday.

Cheechurn : I've tapao-ed pork rice for dinner. Purposely finish a meeting first before enjoy it. Meeting was finished by 9.30pm. Rushed back room only to realise the pork was Japanese style (half cooked only). There are even blood on the pork. So now, I'm just PUMPing white rice. That's it, I'm getting a burger!
Sent at 9.40pm at Tuesday.

Friday, August 12, 2011

something done

Just burnt the midnight oil for a Mechanics of Machine project, oil habis kering already. Actually I kinda like that subject. It is more related to mechanical engineering, drawing of simple machines and stuff. But still, pulling an all nighter completing report was not fun, especially when you have to squeeze your sleepy brain for some useful ideas late at night.

The report is quite lengthy and complicated with all the triangle rules, angles, Excel, etc and it is Mechanics of Machine, with an abbreviation - MOM. I was like I seriously needed my mom here with me to get me through the night, made me hot milo with HupSeng biscuits. They don't have those in UTP.

Kinda fell into low self-esteem and self-ignorant condition recently, piling up all assignments just to wait for the duedate, indulging myself with movies, snacks and "tumpang sahur" every night although I'm not fasting. Not sure if I'm gaining weight or not, but what's for sure is that my "eye shadow" is getting darker and darker. Oh God, I love Ramadan month!!!

It's been long since I've completed something myself, really missed the sense of achievement. I, an easily satisfied boy, managed to gain some yesterday, or I should say this morning after completing the project. Not that I'm motivated or what, just manage get a taste of pride. So purposely update this blog post to remind myself how nice it feels when I can get something done!

One more thing, I'll be having 5 tests coming up in the next 2 weeks, po pi po pi ar..

Thursday, August 11, 2011

坏人不好当

Content warning: This post is a little emo one.. So for those who's looking for funny and happy blog post, skip this one. Thank you.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

我在大学里常常都参与一些活动,当筹委。筹备过程中时常认为高层这里不是,那里不对。 然而最近在活动当了高层,才懂得不容易啊!

高层需要选出适合的人选来担任各种位置,有时就会遇到必须顾虑该不该选朋友的烦恼。但是朋友们自己若不被选,有些会很明白事理,有些就会很不服气。我的高层已开始就必须面对这问题。有位朋友是这活动的踊跃分子,连续参加了两年,但由于有更好的人选,她,就落选了。而我,是那位需要传达这坏讯息给她的使者。

我以为我能胜任这个任务,就打给她。电话没通,进了voicemail,松了一口气。平静的情绪一会儿就让简讯铃声打断了,看一看,是她。烦恼的三天就这样开始了。她不能接受落选的事实,变得很情绪化,把事情看得很personal。我就很难做人啊!高层决定了就是这么办。你是我朋友我也无奈嘛。我想当好人,就一直解释给她听,一直拖,拖到了三天。若事情这样拖下去,活动搞不成啊!我就狠下心当坏人吧!就这样,到了今天,我还没有和她说到半句话。

我不介意当坏人,因为有时只有当坏人,事情才能快速解决,不该拖拖拉拉,但是最重要还是要有人能理解。幸亏我的筹委中有人能理解我们,觉得当了坏人受人恨,也是值得的。

以前若有问题发生,我常常都是静静的,认为让别人当坏人,自己不要插手。但是现在我认为能为了别人而当坏人,我欣赏。

忠言:但若能避免当坏人,还是能免则免吧!不好受啊!



Thursday, July 28, 2011

Breaking the Rules is always thrilling

When people say don't do this, don't do that, they are actually digging our curiousity. You will always get curious of why we should not do so or just wanna prove to them that it can be done! You'll always end up doing it..

Life is so dull inside UTP and to colour up my university life, I'll always think of doing something out of ordinary or breaking a law. It is like lighting up your life by accepting new challenges. And today, I've done one, which I had done before but it still did give me the thrill to quench the thirst of my teenage life.

The lifeguard shut the swimming pool at 7pm. And when the pool was totally deserted, we appeared. And fyi, the badminton court was the only building separating the pool with the security office. And that particular time was actually the shift time for the security guards. Anyway, after some time when my friends and I got the surrounding parameter secured, two of us climbed into the swimming pool.

We definitely made our "break-in" with style as we ran and jumped "bomb style" into the pool. There were only two of us inside the pool so the splashing of water was the only audible sound in the silence. We were swimming, holding our breath, enjoying the sense of "achievement".

It is then when I got up the water surface after the holding breath challenge, I noticed something like a CCTV monitoring the place where we both climbed in. I told my friend and we both did get a little nervous. Then we stayed a little longer before looking for our exit. There were no chairs like it used to have. So eventually we managed to climb over a gate over the other side of the pool.

We both really wanted to extend the crazy day. Since we both did not bring money along, we planned about putting my handphone to the cafe cashier as a pawn in order to order our nasi goreng. But unfortunately I had a meeting to rush to which ended the crazy day.

So go break some rules, have fun but be smart, don't get caught! Remember to look for security cameras first!

Tuesday, June 7, 2011

在我 form 4 前认识我的人都会知道我头后面有道疤痕,长不了头发,因为我form4之前都是剪“二号头”嘛。但是我 form 4 后开始留了头发,不是留长发。头发长了,就盖掉了那道疤,所以form4 后才遇见我的人往往都不知道那道疤痕的存在。

那道疤痕其实是我小时候跌倒留下的。以前屋子的房间都稍微高一些,应该是防止水在水灾时流到房里。我就是趁妈妈不在意时走出房外,一不小心 "purum.. purum.. ping.. piang.. Pong~~" followed by "wu~ wu~ wu~ wu~"。疤痕从此就跟我更到现在了。。

最近姐姐一直催我去剪掉我头上那堆“杂草”。想了好久还是打算剪回以前的发型,但最后我弟拿出手机让我们看了一张 David Beckham 新发型的照片。大家都叫我试试那发型。其实我很早就很想很想尝试剪那种发型了,但是若剪了,疤痕就会跑出来了。我姐说那疤痕是我的特色,而且当时刚看完 X-men First Class,她就用 Magneto 对 Mystique 说的那句话套在我身上,说"Be proud of who you are",笑得我嘴巴快抽筋了。就这样,我剪了这稍微短的发型。

回到大学,朋友们吃了一惊,问我头发怎么了,干吗剪了一个洞。我才开始讲故事咯。过后他们说我头后面有个 USM port,不用读书了,只要插 pendrive 来 transfer lecture notes 就可以了,哈哈。


我蛮喜欢我现在的发型,也不怎么在意别人怎么看我那道疤,也不在意那道疤比我出名(别人都只是关心我那道疤),因为那是我的特色!

Friday, June 3, 2011

1Malaysia


All this while, I have been mistaken as many other races.

The first case was my interview session in UTP. I went for a new haircut in order to score some image marks during the interview. Anyway, my mom commented that I looked like a Siamese boy.

My feeling : Maybe because of the haircut la.. Still acceptable..

The second case was during my trip to Sarawak with a few other friends during our semester break. My friend was kind enough to offer us accomodation in his house, saving me a lot of money and trouble. His family members were so friendly too. Anyway, at night, I got to know from my other friend that TCS's mom asked him if I am an Iban (lat kia).

My feeling : My complexion maybe.. Maybe all Sarawakian chinese are fairer since that friend is really fair. Acceptable..

The next case was during one of my events, Mission Awareness Programme (MAP) which is a foster family programme in Rungkup, Perak. I was the Emcee for the Opening Ceremony. During my stay, my friends told me that the villagers there asked why a Japanese can speak fluent Malay as an Emcee.

My feeling : WOW.. I'm gonna stick to my face cleansing product.. Feeling good.

After MAP, I joined Youth Nation Summit (YNS) 2011 in University Malaya. During MAP, I was under the sun for sukaneka for a few hours and taaadaaaaaaa.. I turned chocolate. No offense to anyone. My complexion was so dark that several people thought I was not a Chinese in YNS. A Malay reached out to me and I got to know he was from Kedah through our conversation. So I spoke Malay with him. Right after that, he asked if I am a Malay.

My feeling : WTH!!! I looked like a Malay, I mean how is it possible.. 接受不了。。

Then, I met another guy, Sam. He is an Indian from Penang and he told me that I looked like one of his friends, the shape of my face etc. I was like "ooooo, who is this guy?" does he really look like me?" It is then that Sam further said that he is an Indian. Now the guy that I imagine in my head suddenly turned Indian.

My feeling : Shocked.. Speechless.. Stop imagining..

That night itself, I asked one guy from Pakistan for a frank answer.
CC: What race you think I'm from?
Pakistan friend: Not sure but you do not look like chinese..

My feeling : That explains why people in YNS never start a conservation with me in Chinese.

In conclusion, I feel that it is acceptable for people to mistaken me as a Siam or an Iban, but Malay and Indian? No comment. I looked back the picture if YNS and I looked really dark, but still, I looked Chinese. I guessed I am UNIVERSALLY ACCEPTED and it is a good thing. I am a strong example of the 1Malaysia concept. Hahaha

*Clarification: I am shocked to know that I look like a Malay and Indian not becauseI do not want to or feel bad to be a Malay or Indian. No sense of racial discrimination at all. It is just that I have this particularly obvious small eyes which qualify me for Chinese (no offense for Chinese readers, just refering to the typical stereotype mindset for a Chinese.) 

So hard to write a blogpost involving races la..